WINEMAKERS FROM GENERATION TO GENERATION SINCE 1785

Edmond Rentz

It was at Zellenberg in 1785 that Thomas Rentz became fascinated in winemaking, setting up his own vineyard and producing his own wine for his family’s consumption and some local taverns.

From 1920, Edmond Rentz enlarged the size of his vineyard and dedicated his life to the wines of Alsace. Amongst the first to start using modern bottling technics from 1930, where he decided to tailor the quality of his wines and place his name on each bottle, thereby creating the Edmond Rentz brand.

His son, Raymond Rentz took over the estate in 1953 and extended his vineyard around Zellenberg, Riquewihr, Hunawihr, Ribeauvillé and Bergheim. He built a new cellar and combined age-old traditions with modernity. He worked hard to further improve the quality of his wines, vinifying both vines and terroirs.

 

Catherine Rentz and her brother Patrick then join the family business in 1995 and developed a form of viticulture that was more environmentally friendly. This evolution however stays true to the family spirit of always seeking to improve the quality, distinctiveness and authenticity of their wine

Domaine Edmond RENTZ
Vignerons indépendants

7, Route des Vins
68340 ZELLENBERG – FRANCE
Tél. : + 33 (0) 3 89 47 90 17
Fax : + 33 (0) 3 89 47 97 27

INSCRIPTION À LA NEWSLETTER
Vigneron indépendant - Alsace

Vignerons de père en fils depuis 1785

Edmond Rentz
Edmond Rentz

C’est en 1785 à Zellenberg que Thomas Rentz se passionne pour la viticulture. Il exploite quelques parcelles de vigne et produit son propre vin destiné à la consommation familiale et à quelques tavernes de proximité

A partir de 1920, Edmond Rentz agrandit la taille de son vignoble et consacre sa vie aux Vins d’Alsace. Pionnier de la mise en bouteille dès 1930, il décide de personnaliser la qualité de ses vins et appose son nom sur chaque bouteille. Il crée ainsi la marque Edmond Rentz.

Son fils, Raymond Rentz prend en charge le Domaine en 1953 et étend son vignoble sur Zellenberg, Riquewihr, Hunawihr, Ribeauvillé et Bergheim. Il construit une nouvelle cave et allie la tradition à la modernité. Exigeant et soucieux d’oeuvrer pour la qualité des vins, il vinifie par cépages et terroirs.

 

 

Animés par cette même passion, Catherine Rentz et son frère Patrick, rejoignent le domaine familial en 1995 et développent une viticulture respectueuse du sol, de la vigne et de l’environnement. Cette évolution s’inscrit dans la recherche permanente de qualité, typicité et authenticité des vins au sein du Domaine Edmond Rentz.

 

 

 

Domaine Edmond RENTZ
Vignerons indépendants

7, Route des Vins
68340 ZELLENBERG – FRANCE
Tél. : + 33 (0) 3 89 47 90 17
Fax : + 33 (0) 3 89 47 97 27

INSCRIPTION À LA NEWSLETTER
Vigneron indépendant - Alsace